Past Commencement Speakers

Past Commencement Speakers

2017 – Fall
Alice Conner-Malyszek, '85, A.E., B.S.
Director of Manufacturing
BAE Systems' Combat Vehicles U.S.

2017 – Spring
Shannon McCully, '96, B.S., M.B.A.
Manager, Industrial Engineering
Walt Disney Parks and Resorts

2016 – Fall
William S. Shipley III, B.A., M.B.A.
Chairman of the Board, Shipley Group, and
Board of Trustees Representative, The Pennsylvania State University

2016 – Spring
Michael F. Allen
Executive Vice President, Business Development, Harford Bank
Former Executive-in-Residence of The Graham Center for Entrepreneurial Leadership Studies at Penn State York

2015 – Fall
Elizabeth (Liz) J. Dellinger, B.A.
Director of Treasury Management, York Traditions Bank

2015 – Spring
Keith D. Noll, '87 HHD. B.S.; MHN
Senior Vice President, WellSpan Health and President, York Hospital

2014 – Fall
Jonathan J. Spanos '93, '01, Ph.D.

2014 – Spring
Jeffrey L. Wigbels, '76, B.S., CIMA, SIMC
Senior Vice President at Morgan Stanley in Atlanta, Georgia, and a Cancer Survivor

2013 – Fall
Ted S. Geiselman '77, B.S.
President of DMW Automation and Weiler Labeling Systems (WLS)

2013 – Spring
Frank E. Dittenhafer II, '78 FAIA, LEED AP
President of Murphy & Dittenhafer Architects

2012 – Fall
The Honorable Todd Russell Platts
United States Congress, House of Representatives
19th District of Pennsylvania

2012 – Spring
Frederick C. Haag
Associate Professor of Visual Arts
Penn State York

2011 – Fall
Gary C. Butler
President and CEO, Precision Custom Components

2011 – Spring
Dr. Joel Rodney
Penn State York Chancellor

2010 – Fall
Dr. M. Abul Hasan
Associate Professor of Physics

2010 – Spring
Dr. John J. Romano
Vice President for Commonwealth Campuses, Penn State

2009 – Fall
Jane S. Sutton
Associate Professor of Communication Arts and Sciences
Penn State York

2009 – Spring
Jon Landis
Assistant Professor, Millersville University

2008 – Fall
Jennifer Butler Stone
Severe Accident Engneer, AREVA NP

2008 – Spring
Thomas W. Wolf
Pennsylvania Secretary of Revenue

2007 – Fall
Dr. Barbara O.Korner
Dean of the College of Arts and Architecture, Penn State

2007 – Spring
William J. Althaus
Former Mayor of the City of York and International Consultant

2006 – Fall
John S. Brenner
Mayor of the City of York

2006 – Spring
Robert W. Pullo
Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer of the Way Point/York Federal Foundation, Inc.

2005 – Fall
Dr. John J. Romano
Vice President for Commonwealth Campuses, The Pennsylvania State University

2005 – Spring
Jody L. Keller
Partner-in-charge of the Human Resources Group of Beard Miller Company LLP, York

2004 – Fall
Timothy E. Debes
Vice-president and Civil/Geo-Environmental Department Manager for NuTec Design Associates, Inc.

2004 – Spring
Abraham Amoros
Deputy Press Secretary
Governor Edward Rendell's Office

2003 – Fall
Dr. Sharon Christ
Director of Student Affairs
Penn State York

2003 – Spring
Hon. Stephen H. Stetler
Pennsylvania State Representative

2002 – Fall
Dr. Donald A. Gogniat
Campus Executive Officer
Penn State York

2002- Spring
Dr. James E. O'Hara
Associate Professor of English
Penn State York

2001 – Spring
Hon. Steven R. Nickol
Pennsylvania State Representative

2000 – Spring
Dr. Gary L. Collison
Professor of English
Penn State York

1999 – Spring
Dr. John W. Dawson, Jr.
Professor of Mathmatics
Penn State York

Dr. Cheryl J. Plumb
Associate Professor of English
Penn State York

1998 – Spring
Dr. Leonard J. Berkowitz
Associate Professor of Philosophy
Penn State York

1997 – Spring
Dr. Michael Jarrett
Associate Professor of English
Penn State York

1996 – Spring
Lawrence R. Newcomer, Jr.
Assistant Professor of Comp. Science and Engineering
Penn State York

1995 – Spring
Dr. Theodore E. Kiffer
Interim Provost and Dean
Penn State Harrisburg

1994 – Spring
Dr. Linda V. Itzoe
Associate Professor of English
Penn State York

Frank P. Miller
Penn State York

1993 – Spring
Dr. Ernest A. Harrison, Jr.
Professor of Chemistry
Penn State York

1992 – Spring
Dr. Bruce M. Broadbent
Assistant Professor of Exercise and Sport Science
Penn State York

1991 – Spring
Hon. William J. Althaus
Mayor, City of New York

1990 – Spring
Hon. William F. Goodling
United States Congressman

1989 – Spring
Hon. Harris Wofford
Secretary of Labor, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania

1988 – Spring
Hon. Juanita Kidd Stout
Judge, Pennsylvania Supreme Court

1987 – Spring
Hon. Michael E. Bortner
Pennsylvania State Representative

1986 – Spring
Dr. Stanley F. Paulson
Vice President, Association of American Colleges

1985 – Spring
Edward M. Elias
Penn State York Campus Executive Officer

1984 – Spring
Richard A. Zimmerman
President and Chief Executive Officer,
Hershey Foods Corporation

1983 – Spring
Dr. David M. Joyner
Orthopedic Surgeon

1982 – Spring
Dr. Charles L. Hosler
Dean of the College of Earth and Mineral Sciences,
The Pennsylvania State University

1981 – Spring
Hon. William W. Scranton III
Lieutenant Governor,
Commonwealth of Pennsylvania

1980 – Spring
Hon. Jeanette Reibman
Pennsylvania State Senator

1979 – Spring
Dr. Theodore L. Gross
Dean and Provost for the Capitol Campus
The Pennsylvania State University

1978 – Spring
Dr. Eric A. Walker
President Emeritus,
The Pennsylvania State University

1977 – Spring
Dr. Nunzio J. Palladino
Dean of the College of Engineering and
Professor of Nuclear Engineering,
The Pennsylvania State University

1976 – Spring
Dr. Ray A. Miller
President, York College of Pennsylvania

1975 – Spring
Hon. William F. Goodling
United States Congressman

1974 – Spring
Kenneth L. Holderman
Vice President for Commonwealth Campuses,
The Pennsylvania State University

1973 – Spring
Hon. Jane M. Alexander, Esq.
Deputy Secretary, Department of Agriculture,
Commonwealth of Pennsylvania