Campus Senate Minutes: August 17, 2016

Attendance: R. Bartell, J. Burkholder, M. Casteel, M. Coyle, A. Dietz, J. Downing, B. Eshbach, A. Fetterman, D. Folkers, C. Gaston, J. Giguere, S. Gill, A. Giorgioni, F. Haag, H. Hartman, A. Hasan, C. Heydl-Cortinez, M. Jarrett, A. Kara, J. Kasten, O. Kucukemiroglu, A. Landis, D. Latzko, F. Lugemwa, K. Magni, M. Marcus, M. Muller-Kahle, N. Muscanell, J. Nesbitt, M. Nicholas, J. Owen, J. Price, M. Ritchey, D. Sarafian, A. Seidel, J. Siddique, N. Sloboda, J. Smeltzer, J. St. Clair-Christman, S. Stelly, J. Sutton, K. Swalgin, A. Vardo-Zalik, E. Wenk, M. Wijesinha, H. Gumke, S. Ruch, R. Service, P. Tanner, F. Baker, D. Chown, B. Dennis, R. Farrell, S. Shaffer, D. Oswald, and T. Allison

Called to order at 12:15 p.m.

I. Approval of minutes from the April 19, 2016, Campus Senate meeting- the minutes were approved without changes.

II. Communications from administration, faculty and committees

- A. Announcements from the Chancellor, Dr. David Chown-no new announcements.
- B. Announcements from the DAA, Dr. Bob Farrell
- 1. The summer PaSSS program was a great success, with twenty-three students enrolled. Students received a scholarship and an award that allowed them to work on campus for up to 100 hours during the summer and fall semesters. These students will be invited to participate in this program again next summer, and we expect to bring in another first-year cohort of up to thirty students.
- 2. A word of gratitude and appreciation is due to Suzanne Shaffer for all of her work assisting faculty in the transition from Angel to Canvas. Nice work...thanks, Suzanne!
- 3. Convocation is scheduled for 10:30 a.m. on Friday, August 19, in The Pullo Center. It is expected to last less than forty-five minutes. All faculty and staff are invited to participate, in academic regalia.
- 4. A new coordinator is needed to oversee the Comprehensive Studies Program (CSP), formerly the EOP program. This is a good service opportunity for one person, two people, or a team of staff and faculty members. This is a very worthwhile program which has a small budget for various extracurricular on- and off-campus activities. Please let me know if you are interested.
- 5. Please pay particular attention to the start and end times of your classes, as we are now using the University's common schedule.
- C. Announcements from University Senators-first meeting of the University Faculty Senate for 2016-17 will be Tuesday, September 6.
- D. Announcements from Senate Committee Chairs-Dr. Joy Giguere, co-chair of Faculty Affairs announced that colloquia will continue this fall-faculty

are encouraged to consider scheduling a talk-contact Dr. Giguere if interested.

E. Announcements from Faculty Council Representatives, Dr. Joe Downing and Dr. Noel Sloboda-the Council plans to continue work to develop University-level awards-expect updates on progress later this year.

F. Announcements from Faculty

- 1. Dr. Maureen Muller-Kahle-will be serving as ombudsperson this yearplease contact her with concerns regarding administration.
- 2. Dr. Noel Sloboda-Visiting Poet, Joseph Bathanti, will hold a reading on September 15.
- 3. Jon Price-copies of Teaching International schedule of events for 2016-17 were distributed to each table.

G. Announcements from Staff

- Suzanne Shaffer thanked all faculty who participated in Canvas training over the summer-our campus is ahead of many others.
 Professional development opportunities in teaching and learning will be available this academic year-watch email for announcements.
 Dr. Andy Landis asked if it was possible to add links to Canvas and LionPATH to the campus webpage. Barb Dennis volunteered to follow up on this.
- Patrick Tanner-reminded everyone to contact his office regarding student conduct issues. Considering a possible mentoring program for students of color.
- H. Announcements from Student Governance- Michelle Lin, incoming SGA president, introduced herself. Dr. Noel Sloboda reminded Ms. Lin of the need for student members for Campus Senate Committees.
- I. Announcements from Senate Chair, Dr. Noel Sloboda-please communicate

all Senate business by email to both him and Joan Smeltzer (jhs7@psu.edu), and please review list of committee rosters and forward any corrections or changes to him and Ms. Smeltzer. Dr. Sloboda will announce a date and time for a committee chair charge meeting shortly.

III. Unfinished Business

IV. New Business

- A. Campus Senate meetings (all in 107 Grumbacher) will be held October 4, November 14, and December 1.
 - B. Voting for Promotion and Tenure Committees

Dr. Sloboda and Dr. Farrell noted that there was a quorum present.

- Chair of Full Professor Committee-Dr. Jane Sutton
- Chair of Promotion and Tenure Committee-Dr. Joe Downing
- Core Members of Promotion and Tenure Committee-Drs. Mark Casteel and Andy Landis
- C. Campus Exit Interview Officer-Dr. Ken Swalgin volunteered to continue to serve.
- D. Faculty Representative to the Student Activities Fee committee-
 - Dr. Jessica Petko assumes this volunteer position.
- E. Faculty Liaison to the Pullo Family Performing Arts Center-Dr. Abul Hasan assumes this volunteer position.
- F. Student Facilities Fee Allocation Board- Deirdre Folkers will continue to serve in this volunteer position.
- G. Elect FTII faculty representatives to Campus Senate- Deirdre Folkers announced that volunteers to serve will be solicited during adjunct orientation, which will be held this evening.
- H. Appoint Faculty Unit Heads, Representatives and Curricular Affairs members- results of elections held during unit meetings were reported:

Mathematics, Science and Engineering:

Unit Head: Dr. Marshall Coyle

Unit Representative: Dr. Andy Landis

Members of Curricular Affairs: Harley Hartman, Mary

Ritchey, and Dr. Manel Wijesinha

Social and Behavioral Sciences:

Unit Head: Dr. Nicole Muscanell

Unit Representative: Dr. Alyssa Dietz

Members of Curricular Affairs: Dr. Alyssa Dietz, Dr. JeanMarie

St. Clair-Christman, Deirdre

Folkers

Arts and Liberal Studies:

Unit Head: Dr. Stuart Stelly

Unit Representative: Dr. Noel Sloboda

Members of Curricular Affairs: Dr. Mike Jarrett, Dr. Jane Sutton,

Dr. Cecilia Heydl-Cortinez

V. Forensic Business

A. Dr. Farrell asked that all advisers meet this afternoon at 103 Grumbacher at 1:30 p.m. for training with Jane Emery.

B. Fred Haag, chair of the Academic Integrity Committee, stressed the importance of following University guidelines regarding academic integrity violations.

VI. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 1:01 p.m.

VII. Next meeting: October 4, 2016, 12:05-1:15 pm in 107 Grumbacher