Reading Specialist Certification for Teachers

Reading Specialist Certification for Teachers

The Reading Specialist Certification for Educators is designed for teachers that wish to gain specific skills related to teaching reading and expand their understanding of the process behind the development of readers.


  • Instructional I Teaching Certificate
  • Three credit course in Methods of Teaching Reading
  • Child Development course (PSYCH 410) or equivalent
  • Adolescence course (PSYCH 412) or equivalent

Program Requirements

The Reading Specialist Certification requires completion of 24 credits including the following:

  • EDUC 466: Foundations in Teaching English as a Second Language
  • EDUC 477: Teaching Struggling Readers and Writers
  • EDUC 562: Diagnostic Evaluation of Reading Problems
  • EDUC 563: Advanced Methods in Teaching Reading

Six credits from the following Literacy Course options:

  • EDUC 422: Literature for Children and Adolescents
  • EDUC 432: Children’s Literature in Writing
  • EDUC 425: Literacy Assessment
  • EDUC 452: Teaching Writing
  • EDUC 471: Best Practices in Literacy

Capstone Course

  • EDUC 564: Reading Clinic (6 credits) to be completed in the summer